JSC sets out 7-point evaluation criteria as search for more judges begins

NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 3 — The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has outlined a 7-point selection criteria as interviews to recruit twenty additional judges to the High Court commenced on Wednesday.

Key among the attributes the 11-member will examine while processing 100 candidates shortlisted for interviews include professional competence, communication skills, integrity, fairness, good judgment, and legal experience.

The panel will also assess the candidates’ commitment to the public and community, particularly efforts to advance access to justice.

In a note circulated on Wednesday, JSC noted candidates must demonstrate a profound grasp of substantive and procedural law, intellectual capacity, legal judgment, and diligence.

JSC will also assess communication — written and oral — noting the values are essential in ensuring candidates can clearly articulate legal issues and engage with diverse audiences. 

The panel will also require candidates to have a history of honesty and moral character, along with an impartial and just approach to the law. 

“Good judgment, including common sense, the elements of which shall include a sound balance between abstract knowledge and practical reality and in particular, demonstrable ability to make prompt decisions that resolve difficult problems in a way that makes practical sense within the constraints of any applicable rules or governing principles,” JSC noted.

JSC restated its commitment to ensure appointees contribute positively to society.

During the first day of the interviews, streamed live online, the JSC lined up six candidates including Adelaide Amimo and Agnes Njoroge, both practicing advocates.

The panel was also set to interview Chief Magistrates Alex Ithuku and Alfred Gethi.

Also lined up is the Senior Assistant Director, Public Prosecutions, Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Alexander Muteti, and lawyer Chepngetich Soi.

The JSC comprises Chief Justice Martha Koome (Chairperson), Justice Mohammed Ibrahim (Supreme Court), Justice Fatuma Sichale (Court of Appeal), Justice David Majanja (High Court), Attorney General Justin Muturi (Ex Officio), Chief Magistrate Everlyne Olwande (Magistrates’ Courts), Macharia Njeru (LSK), Jacqueline Ingutiah (LSK), Caroline Nzilani (Public) Isaac Ruto (Public), and Charity Kisotu (Public Service Commission).

Leave a Reply